The Broad Experience

I highly recommend to do an advance reservation. Note tickets go out quickly, so when making reservations. A year ago I had to reserve tickets 3 months in advance. I first made my reservations in November and I was able to get reservations for a Saturday in mid-February in the early morning. Now, advanced tickets are made available on the first of each month for the following month. You can also wait in the standby line any day, but the line is usually an hour to an hour and a half according to their website. I am honestly not down for lines anymore, you get too much of that at Disneyland, so I preferred to reserve tickets.

Timing is important for entry. If you are looking to see the highly anticipated…

Yayoi Kusama’s Mirrored Infinity Room 

20160220_124600

You probably want a reservation as close to opening. This room was pretty something. You have about 45 seconds to be in the room. This actually felt a lot longer when I was in there. I felt that I could appreciate the artistry and the meaning as well as get in our photo of course ;). You are surrounded by water below and the lights are pretty surreal. This was definitely a must see if you make it out to the Broad for sure!

After you get into the Broad, the sign up is on an iPad with a staffer to the left of the entrance (right next to the gift shop). I signed up around 11 am when they opened at 10am and we waited an hour and a half before we got the text to return to gain entry. My friends and I had an odd experience though because they had a fire alarm going off when we arrived, this may have made their timing off a bit. We basically got in 30 minutes later than expected. And I thought I had escaped fire alarms when I wasn’t in housing (reslife issues). We basically got to enjoy the rest of the museum during that wait. It is very doable to finish viewing the rest of the exhibits in an hour and a half. Unless you take more time in listening to their audio tours on their app or just like to spend more time in museums in general.

Some of my favorite pieces were by Jeff Koons. He created pieces that you can find at birthday parties.

The Broad Hours:

Monday  |  Closed

Tuesday and Wednesday  |  11 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Thursday and Friday  |  11 a.m. – 8 p.m.

Saturday  |  10 a.m. – 8 p.m.

Sunday  |  10 a.m. – 6 p.m.

You can find more information about visiting here.

Leave a comment